Punk legends Buzzcocks are to have their classic 7in singles released in a stunning boxset – but the price could put many fans off.

Formed in Bolton in 1976, the band released a series of essential 45s between November 1977 and December 1980 on the United Artists label.

Songs like Promises, Everybody Happy Nowadays, I Don’t Mind, Harmony In My Head and What Do I Get? established Pete Shelley and Steve Diggle as one of punk-pop’s greatest songwriting partnerships.

The band split in 1981, but reconvened in 1989, and although they produced some good work (recently collected in Cherry Red‘s CD boxset Sell You Everythingreviewed here) they never quite hit the same heights again.

Shelley sadly died in December 2018, though Diggle has kept the band going with long-time bassist Chris Remington and drummer Danny Farrant.

Now, the complete run of seven-inch singles released on UA by the classic Shelly-Diggle-Garvey-Maher line-up is being re-released in a boxset.

Starting with Orgasm Addict and ending with Running Free, all the singles have been remastered from the original tapes and come in the original Malcolm Garrett-designed sleeves. The box also contains a 36-page booklet.

The snag lies in the price – a hefty £150. Understandably, many fans have voiced concern, though the band have pointed out that the set is not cheap to produce in relatively small numbers.

Those who still have lovingly-cared-for original singles will probably baulk at shelling out, but you can bet this finds its way onto the Christmas lists of quite a few dads and grandads of a certain age…

Buzzcocks: Complete UA Singles 1977-80 7in boxset is released on 15 January 2021 and can be pre-ordered HERE.


  1. Orgasm Addict/What Ever Happened To?
  2. What Do I Get?/Oh Shit!
  3. I Don’t Mind/Autonomy
  4. Love You More/Noise Annoys
  5. Ever Fallen In Love (With Someone You Shouldn’t’ve?)/Just Lust
  6. Promises/Lipstick
  7. Everybody’s Happy Nowadays/Why Can’t I Touch It?
  8. Harmony In My Head/Something’s Gone Wrong Again
  9. You Say You Don’t Love Me/Raison D’Etre
  10. Are Everything/Why She’s A Girl From The Chainstore
  11. Strange Thing/Airwaves Dream
  12. Running Free/What Do You Know?
Gary Welford
ipamusic.co.uk owner