DIY feminist punks Dream Nails have today released the latest taster track from their forthcoming debut album.

The self-titled record was due out in April, but was delayed due to the coronavirus pandemic, and will now come out on UK indie label Alcopop! Records on August 28.

The new song, Vagina Police, is the London quartet’s rallying cry about reproductive rights and (in)justice in all its forms.

Bassist Mimi Jasson said it’s about the ways the establishment tries to police our bodies across the world “from abortions being illegal, to forced sterilization of trans people”.

The track was originally released by London-based indie Everything Sucks Music as a 7in single back in 2018, but the new version gives new vigour to its message.

It is the sixth song they’ve shared from the delayed album, after Corporate Realness, Text Me Back (Chirpse Degree Burns), Kiss My Fist, Payback and Jillian.

The album is a queer feminist party, which gives the band’s tongue-in-cheek commentary on modern constructs. It will be released by Alcopop! in the UK and Canadian indie Dine Alone Records in North America.

Dream Nails. Pic by Marieke Macklon.

The band are amassing quite a following, including Rage Against The Machine’s Tom Morello, who released last year’s single Corporate Realness on his label Firebrand Records.

Several of Dream Nails’ recent singles have received plays on Radio 1, BBC 6Music, Radio X and Kerrang! Radio – but I’d imagine Vagina Police might not follow in their footsteps!

Dream Nails are Janey Starling (vocals), Anya Pearson (guitar and backing vocals), Mimi Jasson (bass and vocals vocals) and Lucy Katz (drums).

You can pre-order the album and various packages HERE. For the next month, 100% of Dream Nails’ Bandcamp proceeds will be split between Abortion Support Network and Mermaids. 

Dream Nails in the studio. Pic by Marieke Macklon.
Gary Welford owner