One of the hottest nights in the music awards calendar is set to get even hotter with the announcement of more very special guests.

The God of Hellfire Arthur Brown will bring his crazy world to the Vive Le Rock Awards.

The third annual Vive Le Rock Awards is set to take place on Wednesday, April 1, at the 2,000-capacity 02 Shepherds Bush Empire for the party of the year.

Having published its first issue in 2010, Vive Le Rock is celebrating its 10th anniversary, and is now the world’s biggest rock ‘n’ roll and punk magazine, independently published by Big Cheese Publishing Ltd in London.

This week, further icons of rock ‘n’ roll have been confirmed to join the event, with VLR proud to welcome London rockers The Only Ones onto the line-up.

Frontman Peter Perrett returned from the wilderness in recent years with two excellent solo albums,How The West Was Won in 2017 and Humanworld (2019 – reviewed here), and The Only Ones’ legacy will be celebrated as they pick up a ‘classic song’ award for their timeless 1978 hit Another Girl Another Planet.

Also confirmed to join the melee is soul-brother Jim Jones. Whether he’s playing with Thee Hypnotics, The Righteous Mind or The Revue, he’s a man who IS rock ‘n’ roll incarnate, who will bring his hand-clapping grooves to the night.

Jim Jones will appear at the Vive Le Rock Awards. Pic: Mick Burgess.

Then, just when you thought the evening couldn’t get any hotter, along comes the crazy world of Arthur Brown with his red-hot 1968 hit Fire, bringing his wild show and worldwide No. 1 smash hit to the event.

“I am the God of Hellfire and I bring Fire to the Vive Le Rock Awards 2020,” exclaims Arthur, now in his 57th year of performance, after he launched his new immersive multi-media tour in the UK.

They join the previously announced artists, including original rudeboy Neville Staple from The Specials, and a special one-off reformation of 80s goth rockers The Lords Of The New Church, fronted by Hanoi Rocks legend Michael Monroe.

Original rude boy Neville Staple, who is performing at the Vive Le Rock Awards 2020. Pic: Gary Welford.

The Vive Le Rockers all-star band will again back specially invited singers, and the compere for the night will be none other than Ed Tudor-Pole of Tenpole Tudor fame, while Chrissie Hynde and The Pretenders are set to pick up an Icon Award, and punk legend Brian James of The Damned will accept the Pioneer award.

There will be a special section for rockers we have lost, including Gang Of Four’s Andy Gill, Eddie and The Hot Rods’ Barrie Masters (who played the 2019 VLR awards) and surf guitar legend Dick Dale.

The audience will comprise invited members of the media, television, fashion and the music world, as well as members of the general public.

Gary Welford owner