Lo-fi psych-punk duo The Lovely Eggs have announced a series of special in-store appearances to promote the release of their latest album.

The Lovely Eggs. Pic: Darren Andrews.

I Am Moron, their sixth album, will be released on their own Egg Records on Friday, April 3, accompanied by a full UK tour, which is selling out fast.

Formed in Lancaster in 2006, The Lovely Eggs are a lo-fi psychedelic punk band consisting of married couple Holly Ross and David Blackwell.

Throughout their 13-year career, they have embraced isolation, shunning the social conventions of normal life and dedicating their band and their life to the pursuit of what feels right.

They call out everything fake and plastic about the music industry and demand you to re-evaluate on their terms.

The first taste of the new album, This Decision, was released as 2020 lurched into life from its seasonal slumber.

The single reached number No.1 in both the physical and vinyl charts and was hammered by DJs at BBC 6 Music including Iggy Pop, Marc Riley, Steve Lamacq, Chris Hawkins, Gideon Coe, and Tom Robinson, as well as John Kennedy at Radio X.

Some dates on the April tour have already sold out, prompting the duo to arrange a string of special record shop in-store appearances and a surprise hometown free gig at a secret location.

There’s also a new single, Still Second Rate, to be released on March 27 ahead of the album, and they have revealed the record’s amazing artwork and full track-listing.

I Am Moron is The Lovely Eggs’ sixth album.

Still Second Rate will be available on limited edition snot green vinyl, and backed by the non-album track Jam Wild Jam.

I Am Moron is their second album co-produced and mixed by Dave Fridmann (The Flaming Lips, MGMT, Tame Impala) and continues their journey through Eggland into the unknown.

Its artwork is by genius artist and video director Casey Raymond, who has the unbridled talent to perfectly visualise The Lovely Eggs’ sound, spewing Eggland out in a swirling whirlpool of dayglo colours, melting faces and symbols.

The Lovely Eggs. Pic: Darren Andrews.

Throughout their 13-year career, The Lovely Eggs have embraced isolation.

With no booking agent, manager, record label or publisher they are truly independent. And that isn’t due to economics. It is by design.

Support for them is snowballing. They are selling out bigger and bigger venues and more eggheads are joining them in their crusade against bullshit.

Catch The Lovely Eggs live in April at these in-store appearances:

Fri 3 April

Piccadilly Records 12.30pm

HMV Lancaster 5pm

Sat 4 April

HMV Blackpool 10.30am

Action Records, Preston 12.30pm

HMV Carlisle 4.30pm

Sunday 5 April

FREE ENTRY I Am Moron release show in Lancaster at a secret location!

Thursday 9 April

RPM Newcastle 4pm

The Lovely Eggs will open their tour at The Cluny in Newcastle. Pic: Gary Welford.

The Lovely Eggs will play the following I Am Moron UK dates:

Thur 9 April – The Cluny, Newcastle

Fri 10 April – The Brudenell Social Club, Leeds *SOLD OUT*

Sat 11 April – The Castle and Falcon, Birmingham

Sun 12 April – The Bullingdon, Oxford

Mon 13 April – The Fleece, Bristol

Tues 14 April – The Loft, Southampton

Wed 15 April – The Portland Arms, Cambridge *SOLD OUT*

Thur 16 April – Komedia, Brighton

Fri 17 April – The Garage, London

Sat 18 April – Gorilla, Manchester *SOLD OUT*

Fri 24 April – Network, Sheffield (new date)

Fri 1 May – The Mash House, Edinburgh

Sat 2 May – CCA, Glasgow

Thur 7 May – Ulster Sports Club, Belfast

Fri 8 May – The Workman’s Club, Dublin

Sat 9 May – Dolan’s, Limerick

Gary Welford
gary.ipamusic@gmail.com
ipamusic.co.uk owner