London-based DIY punk band Dream Nails have announced a release date for their much-anticipated debut album, and shared another track from it.

Dream Nails will release their debut album on 3 April.

Founded by feminist activists in 2015, the hotly-tipped band mix political rage with contagious pop-punk joy, winning hearts (and raising funds for abortion charities) wherever they go.

Janey Starling (vocals), Anya Pearson (guitar & backing vocals), Mimi Jasson (bass & backing vocals) and Lucy Katz (drums) are building a growing fanbase, helped by appearances for the last two years at Rebellion Punk Festival in Blackpool (last year’s is reviewed here).

The self-styled ‘punk witches’  have toured across the UK and in Europe with the likes of Cherry Glazerr, Bleached and Petrol Girls, and won support from Tom Robinson on BBC6, Huw Stephens of Radio 1 and John Kennedy at XFM.

Their self-titled album will be released on 3 April 2020 via Alcopop! Records. The record has a strong emphasis on empowerment and railing against society’s injustices, especially from a queer feminist perspective. It’s an intoxicating and rallying kaleidoscope of righteous rage, tongue-in-cheek commentary on modern constructs and pure riotous fun. 

Dream Nails’ self-titled album will be released on Alcopop! Records.

Along with the announcement of the album, the band have released new single Text Me Back (Chirpse Degree Burns). The track tackles the anxious hellscape that is 21st century dating and the excruciating pain of being left on ‘read’.

Singer Janey Starling explains: “For those born beyond the M25, ‘chirpse’ is London slang for flirting, and ‘chirpse degree burns’ is our personal slang for the injuries borne from romantic misadventure. The song is a tribute to the gut-wrenching feeling of checking your phone every five minutes to see if your crush has replied.” 

Drummer Lucy Katz adds “The song started as a joke after a fateful Glastonbury where a couple of band members (who shall forever remain unnamed…) got ghosted by their festival crushes.” 

The songwriting sessionfrom which Text Me Back arose was swift, cathartic… and, by the band’s own admission, slightly unhinged.

Text Me Back is Dream Nails’ new single.

Guitarist Anya Pearson continues: “God only knows how rational, sensible, competent people can be reduced to quivering beasts in moments like this – yet no punk witch is safe. If you’ve ever been ghosted, allow yourself to manically wallow.”

The first single to be revealed from the record, Corporate Realness, was another relatable anthem for modern-day life– a sardonic antidote to bullshit office culture.

The track has received plays on BBC Radio 1 as Next Wave on the Indie Show, as well as Radio X and Kerrang! Radio and the band have been widely tipped by the likes of The Guardian, Vice, Nylon, i-D and CLASH.

For fans of Bikini Kill, The Julie Ruin, Dream Wife, The Regrettes and The Ramones, Dream Nails’ live show is a vibrant, all-consuming affair that’ll find you dancing, singing and shouting along in no time.

Dream Nails’ energy and youthful power promise to set your soul on fire at a series of live dates across the UK (and beyond) in the coming months, including an album release show at London’s Oslo on 23rd April.

The track listing of Dream Nails’ self-titled debut album in full:

1. Affirmations (Skit)
2. Jillian
3. Do You Want To Go To Work (Skit)
4. Corporate Realness
5. Text Me Back (Chirpse Degree Burns) 
6. Women And Non-Binary People To The Front (Skit)
7. Vagina Police
8. DIY
9. People Are Like Cities
10. Swimming Pool
11. This Is The Summer
12. Fighting Tips (Skit)
13. Payback
14. Kiss My Fist

Dream Nails will be touring their debut album. Pic by Chloe Hashemi and Emily Barker.

Dream Nails on tour:
JANUARY (supporting Anti-Flag)
08 Lisboa, Portugal – RCA Club 
09 Madrid, Spain – Caracol 
10 Vitoria, Spain – Kubik 
11 Zaragoza, Spain – Sala López
12 Barcelona, Spain – Estraperio
14 Milan, Italy – HT Factory 
23 London, UK – Oslo – Album Release Show
24 Bristol, UK – Louisiana
25 Reading, UK – Are You Listening? Festival
26 Southampton, UK – Heartbreakers 

Plus more dates to be announced. 

Gary Welford owner